Ruhland (Brandenburg)

Camp from July, 20th to August, 3rd 2019

Camp Location
YMCA Ruhland e.V.
Berliner Straße 12
01945 Ruhland
10 kilometres west of Senftenberg
www.cvjm-ruhland.de

Application
Deadline for applications: July, 15th 2019
Apply here

Video
Workcamp in Ruhland 2016

Please send your application to:
Karolin Minkner, Camp-Coordinator
Telefon +49-(0)30/ 31 91-131
Fax +49-(0)30/ 31 91-100
E-Mail workcamp@akd-ekbo.de

New educational centre and regional youth centre to be built in the heart of the city
Ruhland is a small town with 3700 inhabitants in the south of Brandenburg. The YMCA Ruhland e.V. exists since 1995. Next year it celebrates its 25th birthday. But this year it is called first of all “Happy Birthday YMCA worldwide”, because he will be 175 years old. We use the big anniversary for the beginning of a special project: Near the market square in Ruhland, a regional youth centre is to be built, which will be inaugurated in summer 2020 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of our local association. This year’s EYS Work Camp will participate in the preparatory work for the opening of the youth centre. Already in 2016 a first Work Camp of the EYS took place in Ruhland. In 2017 a second EYS Work Camp helped to clear and clean the mentioned object.

And now we are finally entering the construction phase with big steps. Planned works in the building are: The camp participants will demolish, build up, paint, plaster and possibly even redesign. Work will be done 6 hours a day, e.g. 8.00 – 14.00 hours. In between there will be a snack break. The participants of the Work Camp will be accommodated in the nearby customs house. Numerous rooms and the possibility of table tennis, billiards and community games are available. There is also a large outdoor area with plenty of space for relaxation and sporting activities.
For leisure time activities, a visit to the town of Senftenberg and the Senftenberg lake district in the immediate vicinity is a good way to go swimming, hiking or cycling. Other tourist attractions include Cottbus, the baroque city of Dresden and capital Berlin. In addition to the excursions, group activities are planned that depend on your interests and will be shaped by you, e.g. through games, songs, music, dances, workshops, themes, photos, etc. that you bring with you.

Task at a glance

  • Work task: Painting and plastering work in the building, possibly demolition work on the rear building / any special construction work under the supervision of specialist personnel such as laying the floor, dry construction, etc. / housework such as shopping, cooking, cleaning, tidying up.
  • Group size: 15 participants (without volunteer team leaders)
  • Camp language: German/English
  • Accommodation: Education Center “Zollhaus” / You have to bring along sleeping bag and camping mat/air mattress!

The teamers are:
Nele and team

Journey/How to travel to Ruhland?:
By train

  • to Ruhland
  • From the train station 10 minutes walk to reach your final destination. The route will be provided with road signs.

By aircraft

  • to airport Dresden
  • from Dresden a regional train goes to Ruhland
  • From the train station 10 minutes walk to reach your final destination. The route will be provided with road signs.

By bus

  • to Dresden
  • from the central bus station you go by public transport system to the central train station
  • from the central train station you go by regional train to Ruhland
  • From the train station 10 minutes walk to reach your final destination. The route will be provided with road signs.

By lift agency

  • to Dresden
  • further you go by public transport system to the central train station
  • from the central train station you go by regional train to Ruhland
  • From the train station 10 minutes walk to reach your final destination. The route will be provided with road signs.

More information to the Public Transport System
Further Information to organize your travel by aircraft, train, bus or lift agency

Ruhland (Brandenburg)

Workcamp vom 20. Juli bis 3. August 2019

Camp-Ort
CVJM Ruhland e.V.
Berliner Straße 12
01945 Ruhland
10 km westlich der Stadt Senftenberg
www.cvjm-ruhland.de

Anmeldung
Anmeldeschluss: 15. Juli 2019
Weiter zur Anmeldung

Video
Workcamp in Ruhland 2016

Anmelden könnt ihr euch bei:
Karolin Minkner, Camp-Koordinatorin
Telefon +49-(0)30/ 31 91-131
Fax +49-(0)30/ 31 91-100
E-Mail workcamp@akd-ekbo.de

Neues Bildungszentrum und regionales Jugendhaus entsteht im Herzen der Stadt
Ruhland ist eine kleine Stadt mit 3700 Einwohner im Süden Brandenburgs. Den CVJM Ruhland e.V. gibt es seit 1995. Nächstes Jahr feiert er seinen 25. Geburtstag. Aber dieses Jahr heißt es erst einmal „Happy Birthday CVJM weltweit“, denn der wird 175 Jahre alt. Wir nutzen das große Jubiläumsjahr für den Beginn eines besonderen Projektes: In der Nähe des Marktplatzes in Ruhland soll ein regionales Jugendhaus entstehe, welches im Sommer 2020 zur 25 Jahrfeier unseres Ortsvereins eingeweiht wird. Bei den vorbereitenden Arbeiten zur Eröffnung des Jugendhauses soll das diesjährige ÖJD-Workcamp mitwirken. Bereits 2016 hat ein erstes Workcamp der Ökumenischen Jugenddienste in Ruhland stattgefunden. 2017 half ein zweites ÖJD-Workcamp das besagte Objekt auszuräumen und zu putzen.

Und nun geht es endlich mit großen Schritten in die Bauphase. Geplante Arbeiten im Gebäude sind: Die Camp-Teilnehmenden werden abreißen, aufbauen, malern, verputzen und eventuell auch schon neu gestalten. Gearbeitet wird 6 Stunden pro Tag z.B. 8.00 – 14.00 Uhr. Zwischendurch gibt es eine Snack-Pause. Die Teilnehmer*innen des Workcamps werden im nahe gelegenen Zollhaus ihr Quartier beziehen. Es stehen zahlreiche Räume und die Möglichkeit der Nutzung von Tischtennis, Billiard und Gemeinschaftsspielen zur Verfügung. Zudem gibt es ein großes Außengelände mit genügend Platz zum Entspannen und für sportliche Aktivitäten.
Für die gemeinsame Freizeitgestaltung bietet sich in der näheren Umgebung ein Besuch der Stadt Senftenberg und der Senftenberger Seenlandschaft an, um baden zu gehen, zu wandern oder eine Fahrradtour zu machen. Weitere touristische Ausflugsmöglichkeiten wären Cottbus, die barocke Stadt Dresden und Berlin. Neben den Ausflügen sind Gruppenaktivitäten geplant, die von euren Interessen abhängen und von euch mitgestaltet werden, z.B. durch von euch mitgebrachte Spiele, Lieder, Musik, Tänze, Workshops, Themen, Fotos.

  • Arbeitsaufgabe: Maler- und Putzarbeiten im Gebäude, eventuell Abrissarbeiten am Hinterhaus / ggf. spezielle Baumaßnahmen unter Anleitung von Fachpersonal wie Fußbodenlegen, Trockenbau u.ä. / Hausarbeit wie Einkaufen, Kochen, Putzen, Aufräumen.
  • Gruppengröße: 15 Teilnehmer*innen (ohne Teamer*innen)
  • Camp-Sprache: Deutsch/Englisch
  • Unterbringung: Bildungs- und Begegnungsstätte Zollhaus. Jede*r muss Schlafsack und Luftmatratze/Isomatte mitbringen!

Unsere Teamer*innen sind:
Nele und Team

Anfahrt – So kommst du zum Zollhaus Ruhland
Mit dem Auto

  • bis Ruhland über die A13 Abfahrt Ruhland
  • an der ersten großen Ampelkreuzung rechts Richtung Ruhland und das erste große Haus hinter der Brücke ist das Zollhaus

Mit der Bahn

  • bis Ruhland
  • Vom Bahnhof läufst du ca. 10 Minuten. Der Weg ist ausgeschildert.

Mit dem Flugzeug

  • zum Flughafen Dresden
  • von Dresden aus fährt regelmäßig eine Regionalbahn nach Ruhland
  • Vom Bahnhof läufst du ca. 10 Minuten. Der Weg ist ausgeschildert.

Mit dem Bus

  • bis Dresden
  • Vom Busbahnhof aus geht es mit dem Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr zum Hauptbahnhof
  • Vom Hauptbahnhof geht es mit der Regionalbahn nach Ruhland
  • Vom Bahnhof läufst du ca. 10 Minuten. Der Weg ist ausgeschildert.

Mit einer Mitfahrgelegenheit

  • bis Dresden
  • mit dem Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr geht es zum Hauptbahnhof
  • vom Hauptbahnhof geht es mit der Regionalbahn nach Ruhland
  • Vom Bahnhof läufst du ca. 10 Minuten. Der Weg ist ausgeschildert.

Info zu Verkehrsmitteln
Weitere Informationen zu Verkehrsmitteln für An- und Abreise