Öko-Kirche Deutzen / Saxony

Workcamp from August 3rd – 17th, 2024

Camp Location
Katholische Kirche St. Konrad Deutzen
An der Kirche
04575 Neukieritzsch

Overnight stay / cooperation partner
Deutzen

Application
Application deadline: July 29th2024
Apply here

Ökokirche Deutzen – Nature, Culture, Community
We, the Ökokirche Deutzen, are a group of Protestant and Catholic Christians from the region who are working on the vision of establishing a meeting and environmental center in and around the church of St. Konrad in Deutzen. We warmly invite you to a work camp in the Leipziger Neuseenland.

Deutzen, not far from the town Borna, is characterized by the fading open-cast lignite mining and past lignite processing industry. Lignite workers from Bavaria built the church of St. Konrad in the 1950s. In the meantime, it is rarely used for church services.

The church and the surrounding area are idyllically situated and invite you to reflect, find peace and meditate, but also to experience community, e.g. around the campfire. Overnight accommodation during the camp is planned on a neighbouring property in Deutzen.

The “Ökokirche Deutzen” as a meeting and environmental center is slowly growing and there is still a lot to do. Tidying and cleaning work in the church, renovation work on the building, as well as redesign measures in the grounds towards a natural garden, want to be implemented. How far the planning and preparation work will have come by June is difficult to estimate at the moment. If we need your help with digging, painting or planting, we can discuss shortly before the start of the work camp, depending on the status of the work and your inclinations.
An outreach at the Deutzen Culture Park is also already firmly scheduled. Work is carried out 5-6 hours a day, e.g. 8am – 2pm. In between, there is a snack break!

In the spare time there is the possibility to visit the city center of Leipzig with a multiplicity of art, culture offers, as well as the local recreation area. All places can be reached in less than 30 minutes by suburban train, as well as the city of Altenburg.
In the immediate surroundings of Deutzen there are exciting nature conservation projects such as a wild horse enclosure and the Haselbacher Teiche nature reserve. In Regis-Breitingen, about 3.5 km away, there is an outdoor swimming pool. The Haselbacher See, one of the most popular bathing lakes in the region, is about 5 km away.
The nearby views into a still active open pit mine, as well as excursions into the surrounding reforested mining areas could also be on the program if wanted. In addition to the excursions, we plan group activities depending on your interests and ideas, e.g. through games brought by you, songs, music, dances, workshops, themes, photos.

At a glance

  • Work Task:
    • Redesign work on the eco-church grounds: landscape maintenance
    • Clean-up and painting work: In, on and around the eco-church
    • Cleaning work in the eco-church
    • Work on the grounds of the shelter (Kulturpark Deutzen: filling fence fields with wickerwork)
    • Housekeeping: grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning, tidying up
  • Group size: at least 9 participants (without volunteer teamers)
  • Camp language: German/English
  • Accommodation: In Deutzen

The teamers are
More information in May

Journey – How to get to Deutzen

  • By train
    • to Leipzig main station
    • From Leipzig main station there is a regular S5 train to Deutzen (28 minutes).
    • From the station in Deutzen it is a 12 min. walk to the Eco-Church
  • By plane
    • to Leipzig airport
    • From the airport there is a S-Bahn train to Leipzig main station
    • From Leipzig main station there is a regular S5 train to Deutzen (28 minutes).
    • From the station in Deutzen it is a 12 min. walk to the Eco-Church
  • By bus
    • to Leipzig long-distance bus terminal (at Leipzig main station)
    • From the long-distance bus terminal, which is located next to Leipzig main station, there is a regular S5 train to Deutzen (28 minutes).
    • From the station in Deutzen it is a 12 min. walk to the Eco-Church
  • With a carpool
    • to Leipzig
    • by public transport to Leipzig main station
    • From Leipzig main station there is a regular S5 train to Deutzen (28 minutes).
    • From the station in Deutzen it is a 12 min. walk to the Eco-Church

More information to the Public Transport System
Further Information to organize your travel by aircraft, train, bus or lift agency

Öko-Kirche Deutzen / Sachsen

Workcamp vom 15. – 29. Juli 2023

Camp-Ort
Katholische Kirche St. Konrad Deutzen
An der Kirche
04575 Neukieritzsch

Anmeldung
Anmeldeschluss: 10. Juli 2023
Weiter zur Anmeldung

Ökokirche Deutzen – Natur, Kultur, Gemeinschaft
Wir, die Ökokirche Deutzen, sind ein Kreis aus evangelischen und katholischen Christen aus der Region, die an der Vision arbeiten, ein Begegnungs- und Umweltzentrum in und um die Kirche St. Konrad in Deutzen zu etablieren. Wir laden herzlich zu einem Workcamp ins Leipziger Neuseenland ein.

Deutzen, unweit der Kreisstadt Borna gelegen, ist geprägt vom vergehenden Braunkohletagebau und vergangener Braunkohlverarbeitender Industrie. Aus Bayern stammende Braunkohlearbeiter haben die Kirche St. Konrad in den 50er Jahren erbaut. Mittlerweile wird sie nur noch selten für Gottesdienste genutzt.

Die Kirche und das darum liegende Gelände sind idyllisch gelegen und laden zum Nachdenken, zum Ruhe finden und Meditieren, aber auch zum Gemeinschaft erleben z.B. am Lagerfeuer ein. Die Übernachtung während des Camps ist auf einem benachbarten Grundstück in Deutzen geplant.

Die „Ökokirche Deutzen“ als Begegnungs- und Umweltzentrum wächst langsam und es ist noch viel zu tun.  Aufräum- und Sanierungsarbeiten am Gebäude, sowie Umgestaltungsmaßnahmen im Gelände hin zu einem naturnahen Garten, wollen umgesetzt werden. Wie weit die Planung bzw. die Vorbereitungsarbeiten bis Juni gekommen sein werden, ist nach momentanen Stand schwer einzuschätzen. Ob wir eure Hilfe beim Graben ausheben, Malern oder Pflanzen brauchen, können wir kurz vor Beginn des  Workcamps, abhängig vom Stand der Arbeiten und euren Neigungen, miteinander absprechen.
Außerdem steht die Idee im Raum, die örtliche Bevölkerung mit einzubeziehen. Ein Einsatz im Kulturpark Deutzen ist denkbar. Gearbeitet wird 5-6 Stunden pro Tag z.B. 8.00 – 14.00 Uhr. Zwischendurch gibt es eine Snack-Pause!

In der Freizeit besteht die Möglichkeit, die Innenstadt von Leipzig mit einer Vielzahl von Kunst-, Kultur- etc. Angeboten, sowie das Naherholungsgebiet „Neuseenland“ per S-Bahn in weniger als 30 Minuten zu erreichen, ebenso die Stadt Altenburg.
In der näheren Umgebung von Deutzen gibt es spannende Naturschutzprojekte wie z.B. ein Wildpferd-Gehege und das Naturschutzgebiet Haselbacher Teiche. Im ca. 3,5 km entfernten Regis-Breitingen gibt es ein Freibad. Der Haselbacher See, einer der beliebtesten Badeseen der Region, ist ca. 5 km entfernt.
Der nahe Ausblicke in einen noch aktiven Tagebau, sowie Exkursionen in die umliegenden, wieder aufgeforstete Abbauflächen könnte bei Bedarf auch auf dem Programm stehen. Neben den Ausflügen planen wir Gruppenaktivitäten, die von euren Interessen abhängig sind und von euch mitgestaltet werden, z.B. durch von euch mitgebrachte Spiele, Lieder, Musik, Tänze, Workshops, Themen, Fotos.

Auf einen Blick

  • Arbeitsaufgabe:
    • Umgestaltungsarbeiten auf dem Gelände der Ökokirche: Landschaftspflege
    • Aufräumungs- und Malerarbeiten: In, an und um die Ökokirche
    • Arbeitseinsatz bei Ev. Nachbarkirchengemeinde
    • Arbeitseinsatz in Kloster Wechselburg
    • Arbeitseinsatz auf dem Gelände der Unterkunft
    • Hausarbeit: Einkaufen, Kochen, Putzen, Aufräumen
  • Gruppengröße: 10 Teilnehmer*innen (ohne ehrenamtliche Teamer*innen)
  • Camp-Sprache: Deutsch/Englisch
  • Unterbringung: In Deutzen in Pfadfinder-Jurten auf dem Gelände von … (Küche, Aufenthaltsraum und Sanitäranlagen befinde sich im Gebäude)

Die Teamer*innen sind
Mehr Information dazu im Mai

Anfahrt – So kommst du nach Deutzen

  • Mit der Bahn
    • bis Leipzig Hauptbahnhof
    • von Leipzig Hbf. fährt regelmäßig die S5 nach Deutzen (28 Minuten)
    • Vom Bahnhof in Deutzen sind es 12 min. zu Fuß zur Öko-Kirche
  • Mit dem Flugzeug
    • zum Flughafen Leipzig
    • Vom Flughafen geht es mit der S-Bahn zum Leipzig Hauptbahnhof
    • von Leipzig Hbf. fährt regelmäßig die S5 nach Deutzen (28 Minuten)
    • Vom Bahnhof in Deutzen sind es 12 min. zu Fuß zur Öko-Kirche
  • Mit dem Bus
    • bis Leipzig Fernbusterminal (am Hauptbahnhof Leipzig)
    • Vom Fernbusterminal, der neben dem Hauptbahnhof Leipzig gelegen ist, geht es mit der S5 nach Deutzen
    • Vom Bahnhof in Deutzen sind es 12 min. zu Fuß zur Öko-Kirche
  • Mit einer Mitfahrgelegenheit
    • bis Leipzig
    • mit dem Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr geht es zum Hauptbahnhof Leipzig
    • von Leipzig Hbf. fährt regelmäßig die S5 nach Deutzen (28 Minuten)
    • Vom Bahnhof in Deutzen sind es 12 min. zu Fuß zur Öko-Kirche

Info zu Verkehrsmitteln
Weitere Informationen zu Verkehrsmitteln für An- und Abreise